Honda Hybrids Now Added to the Official Hybrid Car Tax Credit List:

Click on Link Below for Full Report:

http://www.cleanmpg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1032

Great-News:

Terry

Old 06-06-2006, 07:44 PM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Honda Hybrids Now Added to the Official Hybrid Car Tax Credit List:

Anyone know why the Prius gets a credit of $3150 while the HCH gets only $2100? Seems like we are getting stiffed.

Old 06-06-2006, 07:52 PM
no more oil

birch

I have no idea. You bring up a valid point. I am no expert, but i believe it has something to do with the difference in the emissions vs the regular model. Again, i dont know. Others who have more experience with hybrids can answer that better......

Old 06-06-2006, 07:52 PM
G.H. Contributor
Lightbulb Re: Honda Hybrids Now Added to the Official Hybrid Car Tax Credit List:

Originally Posted by birchman2
Anyone know why the Prius gets a credit of $3150 while the HCH gets only $2100? Seems like we are getting stiffed.
Great question ?

I think it is because the Credit is based on the difference between the (Gas-Civic) and the (HCH II) FE.

The Toyota Prius has No-Gas counter part. So it gets the Full Credit from the IRS.

Terry

Old 06-07-2006, 01:01 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by birchman2
It was announced today that Toyota has already sold more than 60,000 hybrids this year. So as of October 1st the tax credit on Toyota hybrids will be cut in half. So there, you don't have to whine anymore.

Old 06-07-2006, 04:47 AM
Enthusiast

I received a call from my Honda salesman yesterday to tell me about the tax credit. That's great service! He called me within hours of getting the information. The credit was better that he'd originally expected, but was on target with other predictions. The difference between the Honda and the Prius is their emissions score balanced with their estimated MPG. The rating for the HCH2: http://www.epa.gov/emissweb/E-HONDA-CivicHybrid-06.htm