Going green?

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2005, 07:24 AM
Enthusiast
Default Going green?

Hi. I'm a relatively poor college student looking to buy my first car. Mine just turned over 252,000 miles this week, and is starting to fade. I drive about 100 miles 5 days a week, and gas prices are eating me alive! I'm looking into buying the HCH because it looks like the cheapest one out there. I thought about buying a used non-hybrid car because the payments would be less, and I was afraid that the maintanence would be more expensive on a green car. Any thoughts or suggestions as I start looking for a car? I should mention that I live in the Midwest.

Old 07-11-2005, 08:21 AM
Default Re: Going green?

Well, if you went with a hybrid chances are you would save about $100 a month based on what you probably get (I'm just making a guess) and what you could get with a hybrid. You could probably use that figure to get an idea as to if it will realy save you any money vs. buying a cheaper non-hybrid car.

If money is a factor I would probably go used non-hybrid. If you have money to spend then you should consider a hybrid. I think I saw a few HCH's on Ebay for about 11K.

I saw a Prius I on a used car lot on the way in today so its not out of the question that you can find a used hybrid. As far as maintanence goes I haven't had anything done except the normal scheduled maintenance. Thats mostly changing the oil and "inspecting" a bunch of stuff (yeah right).

Old 07-11-2005, 08:37 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast