Backed off a 600 mile tank

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2006, 01:20 PM
Enthusiast
Default Re: Backed off a 600 mile tank

Originally Posted by Tulip
If I was a police officer and I came across you having run out of gas and if you had passed a gas station in the past 60 miles I would charge you with driving without due care and attention!
If I was a police chief I'd put you on desk duty and suggest you switch to decaf.

Dan

Old 06-13-2006, 01:50 PM
Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by dgkenney
If I was a police chief I'd put you on desk duty and suggest you switch to decaf.

Dan
"And you want to be my latex salesman?" (another Seinfeld reference that just seemed appropriate)

But seriously, as long as the person pulls to the side of the road safely and is willing to risk the ridicule of passing motorists, then it is okay in my book.

Now I know I would stop, laugh since it IS a hybrid-and it is funny to see one out of gas-probably make a quip: "Do you need a jump or an extension cord?" and then drive the driver to get some gas.

Last edited by mickster; 06-13-2006 at 01:51 PM. Reason: Bad punctuation and grammar
Old 06-13-2006, 02:25 PM
Proud owner HCHII

.....and what view might your insurer take if as the result of a deliberate and wilful act on your part you had caused traffic to back up and an accident had occurred in a road tunnel or on a narrow mountain pass?

I think we all know that it is safe to wait until all the bars are extinguished on the gas gauge. And that is one matter, but to deliberately risk running-out of gas altogether, even if you have a spare can is something else.

Old 06-13-2006, 02:36 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by Tulip

I think we all know that it is safe to wait until all the bars are extinguished on the gas gauge. And that is one matter, but to deliberately risk running-out of gas altogether, even if you have a spare can is something else.