120+ MPG for over a mile of slight incline?

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2005, 10:22 AM
Enthusiast
Default 120+ MPG for over a mile of slight incline?

I was wondering if any else had a similar experience?

I have a HCH 05 CVT. Yesterday after filling up my second tank ever (I've owned the car since 08.31.05) I was getting exceptional readings off my instantaneous MPG o-meter. There is about a 1 mile stretch of road leading to my home that has a very slight incline (basically flat, but definitely not a decline!). The meter was maxed out the entire time after I finished accelerating from a stop light up until I braked to enter my development.

My average for the 2 MI trip back from the gas station was 80+ MPG. Normally I'm happy to get over 50MPG, and I'm just beginning to get a feel for the 'sweet spot' in gas pedal depression. However, the fact that I was able to go 120+ MPG, while staying at the same speed, if not accelerating a little bit up a slight incline for an entire mile seems to me a bit strange.

Has anyone else experienced this? Does anyone have any plausible explanations? Perhaps my gauge is broken?

Old 10-09-2005, 01:00 PM
Enthusiast
Default Re: 120+ MPG for over a mile of slight incline?

If you overfill at the pump and get gas into the evaporative emission canister then you can get funky FE readings, this is because the FE gauge is based on the amount of gas added via the fuel injectors. Gas or fumes that come from the evaporative emission canister are not counted towards the total fuel used, and increase your displayed FE.

If your state does not mandate the use of vapor recovery systems on the fuel pump, then the evaporative emission canister will absorb a small amount of gas fumes when you fill up, these fumes are then used by the engine and will artificially inflate your FE display temporally. This usually doesn’t last very long, but dumping liquid gas into canister will have a significantly bigger impact and will last longer too.