'06 HCH - 2 Questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2006, 11:34 AM
MEAN TO BE GREEN ACTIVIST
Question '06 HCH - 2 Questions

'06 HCH Owners,

I have 2 questions:

1. Any one get the interior illumination kit installed? I got one and it only works with the headlights on . Not what I expected. I figured they would come on when you opened the door like the dome light does.

2. Has anyone else hooked up a mobile HAM (Amateur Radio) unit in their new car? I'm a new ham operator, and I just purchased a Kenwood TM-D700A Dual Band rig. This radio uses a fair amount of "juice" as it transmitts at 50 watts of power. If anyone has an FM 2 Meter radio, how was it hooked up? Through the fuse panel, or direct to the battery?
Thanks for any info,

Old 02-01-2006, 12:43 PM
It's not easy being Green
Default Re: '06 HCH - 2 Questions

Hi Don:

The 12 volt power outlets are rated at 120 watts MAX. Check the power consumption rating on the Kenwood and see if that is less than 120 watts. If it is, you can just plug it into the aux 12v power outlet that looks like a cigarette lighter. Simple enough.

If the Kenwood needs 110v ac power, then you'll have to look into installing an inverter to produce 110v from your car 12v dc system. Check into Surepower units, I have a friend who works there and he says lots of truckers buy them.

If the Kenwood needs more than 120 watts of 12v power, then you must have an auxiliary circuit wired into the car to supply it or locate an unused fuse in the fuse box of sufficient power. As a rule of thumb, you can multiply 12v times current rating to get watts available. So, for example, 120 watts at 12v is 10 amps.

Enjoy the ham radio, especially at night on a local peak. Great skip at those times.

MG

Old 02-01-2006, 03:03 PM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast