HCH II-Specific Discussions Model Years 2006-2011

Your AC may be on, and you don't know it

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2007, 08:05 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Your AC may be on, and you don't know it

Notice how both HCH1 and HCH2 (the third and fifth bars) both are averaging 46 MPG in the GreenHybrid database:

I believe the reason is the poor design of the HCH2 climate control system.
[EPA rated the new one 2 or 3 MPG higher than the old one.]
I have 2 years of experience with the 1st generation 2004 Civic Hybrid, and 18 months with the 2nd generation one, my 2006.

Even when the HCH2's climate control is NOT in the AUTO mode the air conditioner turns itself on when you wouldn't expect it to - and you may not even be aware of it.

Example: In my 2006 HCH2 if the temperature setting is set lower than the outside temp and the whole system is off and I reach for the fan dial you'd think that ONLY the fan would come on. (not the AC).
But the AC DOES come on, even though the display displays nothing.
You'd think the display would read "AC ON" when it turns the AC on.
Also, unlike my 2004 HCH1, there is no green AC LED to let you know the AC is on.

I know the AC must be coming on because the car gets very cold.
Plus if I then press the AC button the AC goes off, which is proven by the air coming out of the vents is no longer cold and the display reads "AC OFF".

If I ONLY want to turn on the fan I have to turn on the fan, THEN turn off the AC by pressing the AC button once. :doh:

Stupid design.

I believe many HCH2 owners are driving around with their AC on and don't even know it.
I only figured it out because my temp is set to the lowest possible.
People may have the temperature setting set closer to the outside temp so they would be less likely to notice that the AC came on.

Last edited by kenny; 06-13-2007 at 10:03 PM.
Old 06-13-2007, 08:43 PM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Your AC may be on, and you don't know it