HCH II-Specific Discussions Model Years 2006-2011

New guy needs tips

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2007, 08:17 PM
Pretty Darn Active Enthusiast
Default Re: New guy needs tips

Leave 10 minutes earlier so you can drive 10 mph slower than you usually would (60-65 around here), and try to coast up to red lights to avoid stopping. Roll down the windows for aminute when you first start driving to air out the car and cool off the battery. I will then use the A/C and set it to 75-78 to keep it cool but not running all the time. I used the A/C last week and managed to get in the mid-40s using summer-blend gas. My wife got 40.6 mpg using the A/C at a constant full blast set at 67 this week but she drives the car like her Ridgeline. Driving style and where you set the A/C does make a difference. Expect the car to drag a bit and not coast quite as readily with the A/C on. That's what I have to offer thus far, I'm still learning myself.

Old 08-07-2007, 03:53 PM
Happy Camper Enthusiast
Default Re: CR got 26mpg on city loop-35mpg with Prius II

Originally Posted by phoebeisis
Yes, you do have to drive like a little old lady to average 50 mpg with a HCH II . . . . Consumer Reports got ~26mpg on their city loop with the HCH II-about 47 or so hy.For comparison CR got 35mpg city and about 50 mpg HY with thwe Prius II.Honda owners get the numbers they post here by being very committed to mpg;they aren't normal drivers by any stretch of the imagination.Prius drivers-here-are in general a bit less fanatical.
Luck,
Charlie
I might want to take issue with a couple things here . . . well, maybe three.