HCH II-Specific Discussions Model Years 2006-2011

Does anyone have 2 carseats in the rear?

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2008, 06:41 PM
Active Enthusiast
Exclamation Re: Does anyone have 2 carseats in the rear?

We just ordered a civic we thought that 3 car seats would fit in the rear,
Has anyone tried it?
We have 3 grandchildren 6 mon, 2 and 5 years old.

Old 06-19-2008, 06:50 PM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Does anyone have 2 carseats in the rear?

Originally Posted by ronnie38
Has anyone tried it?
Wow! I am assuming that 2 are forward facing and one is going to be rear facing? That would have to be a interesting fit. I haven't used car seats in about 22 years so I am no expert but that would have to be tight in just about any sedan.

Old 06-19-2008, 06:54 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

Originally Posted by ronnie38
Has anyone tried it?
I really don't see that happening. You would need a rear facing and a forward facing car seat along with a booster seat. There just isn't enough room in the Civic.

If you just glance at the back seat, you might be fooled into thinking you could squeeze them all in back there, but the positions of the car seats are going to be dictated by the lower anchors. The car seats will need to be on the outsides and then there just will not be enough room for a booster seat in the middle.

Old 06-19-2008, 07:29 PM
Active Enthusiast

I have 2 car seats in the rear, both forward facing. No way you can fit another car seat or adult between them. On long trips we put books and/or toys between them.

Our HCHII is our main vehicle. We completely fill the trunk and floor boards when we drive the 500 miles to and from New Jersey and are still very comfortable, especially with the 55+ mpgs we get going there.

Old 06-20-2008, 07:53 AM

I know there are four LATCH anchors in the seat. Couldn't you install seat #1 on anchors 1 & 2 and seat #2 on anchors 2 & 3?

Is there any reason they can't share an anchor?

nf

Old 06-20-2008, 08:01 AM