HCH I-Specific Discussions Model Years 2003–2005

Is MPG reflective of A/C usage?

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2011, 07:46 AM
Enthusiast
Default Is MPG reflective of A/C usage?

Hey guys total newbie here, just got my white 2004 HCH last week (and LOVING it so far!). Sorry if this has been asked and answered already.

I'm wondering if the current MPG indicator is reflective of the MPG you are getting while using the A/C or is it simply based on the physics of your driving (speed, acceleration, etc.)

Sorry if this is a dumb question but it will have a huge impact on whether I am primarily using A/C or the ECON button.

Please ONLY answer if you know for certain one way or the other, as if no one does, I will just call my local Honda dealer. Figured I'd try here first cause if there's one thing I have found out it's that more often than not we know more here on the forum than some of those "advisors" you get on the phone at dealerships!

Thanks in advance!

Old 07-05-2011, 06:08 AM
Enthusiast
Default Re: Is MPG reflective of A/C usage?

Wow, nobody knows this??

Old 07-06-2011, 03:57 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Is MPG reflective of A/C usage?

The MPG indication is a result of measuring the amount of fuel delivered by the injector with distance traveled. Whether or not you use the AC makes no difference to that equasion. For example if someone is a lead foot, using the AC a lot etc it will require more fuel to be delived, reflecting a lower MPG calcuation for the same distance traveled. If someone's 10 mile trip to the store is all downhill it will require less fuel to be delivered for the distance and so a higher MPG will be calculated.

If you want to maximize your MPG while using the AC follow these guidelines:

* Do not have the compressor on while accelerating or climbing hills. The compressor can switch on anytime the "AC" button is lit.
* Do have the compressor on while decellerating or decending hills.