Torque Pro Custom PID and Battery Test Results

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2019, 11:24 AM
Enthusiast
Default Re: Torque Pro Custom PID and Battery Test Results

Thank you very much for the chart and the help with this issue. I ordered the battery on 7/30 right after reviewing the chart and just received the call that the battery is in and ready for me to pick up. Hoping to have time this weekend to install it and then I'll rerun the test.

Old 08-22-2019, 11:31 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

A follow-up test would be greatly appreciated. The GMs have a secondary issue with data rate, so the usual hard rules of voltage deviations don't always apply, but with a long-ish constant current discharge, the skew from the data rate can be minimized.

Old 01-10-2020, 11:21 AM
Enthusiast

Thank you S Keith for putting this up! I can definitely confirm this is the case. I've been rebuilding battery packs since 2014, I rebuilt my first GM 2 mode pack in 2016. I can say from my experience that once these packs are bad it is very difficult to rebuild, I eventually realized it was a complete waste of time. Most of these were near or past 200 K miles, which is typical for the NiMH modules. From what I have read, the Prius is very soft on its battery and they programmed the limits conservatively so that it doesn't pull too much current, also It will tolerate more deviation. Normally a Prius pack I can do one load test of the entire pack, and identify which modules are weak, Replace those, balance, discharge test, and that's normally it. On the two mode packs, I did the same procedure except when I did the second discharge test, I would find one or two more modules that were weak. I would replace those, repeat the procedure, and find One or two more that were now bad. A big issue I realized is that when you have a bad module in a pack, during a discharge test, all of the other modules are limited by the bad modules, So you don't really know for sure until you replace the weak o