Service Traction Control message

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2019, 07:40 AM
Enthusiast
Default Service Traction Control message

I have a 2010 Tahoe Hybrid and have come across a “Service Traction Control” message this past week. Maybe coincidentally, I just had new tires and some brake pads replaced at the dealer. There are no dashboard lights and most of the time, the car runs normally even after the message appears. But a couple times after the message, pressing the accelerator did nothing. Fortunately, both times I was able to pull over and after putting it in park, was able to resume driving. I am very new to trying to get error codes and yesterday bought a Bosch device. So far I am unable to get any type of error log. When I log into OnStar it says everything is fine when it runs diagnostics. And of course it’s Thanksgiving and I’m about 300 miles from home just to complicate matters.

Other than me reading the instruction manual to pull error codes, any other suggestions or has anyone had similar experiences? Thanks!

Old 11-30-2019, 03:42 PM
Enthusiast
Default Re: Service Traction Control message

I had those messages and the "pop out of gear" symptoms while driving my 2010 Escalade...just sometimes at the beginning and then almost every day.
Got the Torque Pro app and did the custom setup for Hybrid battery PID monitoring while dricing. Eventually you will get the Hybrid Battery fault codes and the Check engine light will come on.
All these faults are tied with a failing hybrid battery....
Ended up getting 40 new NiMH modules, replaced them in the battery bank and every code and warning went away. Maybe you only have a few bad modules but chances are that when it starts behaving like that, the battery is gone.