U-Joints

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2007, 06:34 AM
Enthusiast
Default U-Joints

I noticed a vibration in my 2006 FEH and took it to the dealer. They found that the U-Joints were bad. Only 20,000 Km anyone else have issues with this ?

Seems a little bit soon for this type of problem.

Old 02-09-2007, 10:59 PM
Enthusiast
Default Re: U-Joints

The drivetrain of the FEH use c.v. joints not u-joints for both the drive shaft and the axle shafts. The AWD syst. on the FEH looks like the AWD syst. Ford uses on the Jaguar X-Type. I worked as a tech. at Jaguar and I replaced 2-3 drivesharts a week for NVH concerns on the X-Type so the failure dosn't suprise me one bit. just be happy it failed while under warranty drive and axle shafts arn't cheap.

Old 02-09-2007, 11:33 PM
Active Enthusiast

Nope. 17,000 miles since July '06. Nothing yet.

Steve
Oregon

Old 02-12-2007, 05:33 AM
Enthusiast

Originally Posted by Kermit
The drivetrain of the FEH use c.v. joints not u-joints for both the drive shaft and the axle shafts. The AWD syst. on the FEH looks like the AWD syst. Ford uses on the Jaguar X-Type. I worked as a tech. at Jaguar and I replaced 2-3 drivesharts a week for NVH concerns on the X-Type so the failure dosn't suprise me one bit. just be happy it failed while under warranty drive and axle shafts arn't cheap.

All I know that the invioce for the repair from the Ford Dealer clearly states 3 U-Joints replaced not c.v. joints. Not sure what do you mean by NVH concerns.

Old 02-12-2007, 09:00 PM
Enthusiast