Tips for first time buyer

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2023, 08:28 AM
Enthusiast
Default Tips for first time buyer

Thinking of buying a 2010ish Escape hybrid. I owned a gas 2001 Escape years ago, liked it, but rust killed it. Hybrid version that gets around 30MPG sounds great.

Checking marketplace 5-7k with 150-200k miles seems to be the going price. I’ve worked on my own vehicles most of my life, but have zero experience with hybrids.

Honest opinions, buying 10+ year old hybrid an awful idea since I have no experience? What should I look for if I test drive one? Looks like this forum is active, and tons of good info.

Old 08-28-2023, 01:17 PM
2009 MMH
Default Re: Tips for first time buyer

An inexpensive mid size SUV that get's 30 is what drew me to a 2009 Mercury Mariner,
I've had it 2 years and the main issue you'll face is the hybrid battery, if it's on it's way out a shop will offer to replace it with a re-conditioned or similar battery for a couple thousand, but what you'll get is another 14 year old battery
Most of the known typical things to fix are for the most part easy, it's that battery that you'll be stuck with, I wish we all had a new option that was affordable
Others may have ideas about methods of testing the existing battery, the typical pre purchase inspection places won't help much in that regard
good luck

Old 08-28-2023, 01:24 PM
Enthusiast

Thanks very much for reply. I am concerned about the batteries and cost to replace as well l since I’ve never owned hybrid before. Is it possible to replace just certain cells in the battery? Good to know usual repairs aren’t that bad. I’ve read about people getting extremely high prices to replace the brake system. Any experience with that? After owning yours for 2yrs, would you recommend to buy?

Originally Posted by bkorbin
An inexpensive mid size SUV that get's 30 is what drew me to a 2009 Mercury Mariner,