Thinking about an Escape or Mariner - would love to hear from owners!

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2008, 12:53 PM
Enthusiast
Default Thinking about an Escape or Mariner - would love to hear from owners!

I drive a Jeep Liberty now that gets about 20 mpg and I drive about 20K miles a year - I'm a Realtor in Tampa, Florida. I run the A/C almost all the time, unless its that 2 weeks of winter we get. How does that effect the mileage in these trucks? Is it worth having a hybrid SUV if you are going to be running the A/C pretty much year-round?

Also - what if any, are the differences between the Mariner and the Escape? Does the Mariner only come in a 4WD? I don't really need 4WD, I'm fine with 2WD and those seem to get better mileage, in the Escape.

Thoughts/suggestions?

Old 06-21-2008, 02:13 PM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Thinking about an Escape or Mariner - would love to hear from owners!

Hey there! I've owned a 2005 Escape Hybrid for about three months now, and both the wife and I absolutely love it!

The Mariner and the Escape are identical, except for some external and internal appearance differences. Mechanically they are the same car. The Mariner is available in Front Wheel Drive only.

The Air Conditioning on these has three settings: Normal, Recirc, and Max. On the Normal and Recirc positions, the A/C only blows cold while the engine is running (during Electric drive mode, the A/C doesn't function). On the MAX position, the engine stays running all of the time, which does have a mild impact on MPG.

Keep in mind, these achieve their economy using several methods.. not ONLY by shutting off the engine when not needed. These have a very fuel efficient Atkinson cycle engine, which sacrifices low end torque for fuel efficiency. They can get by with this because the electric drive provides most of the low end torque, even while the engine is running.