Ponderings of a Newb

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2007, 01:19 PM
Enthusiast
Question Ponderings of a Newb

Two days ago I picked up my 05 FEH 4x4 and since then I've been obsessed with making it more efficient--funny since the whole purpose of purchasing a hybrid in the first place is that its already more efficient than what you already had (in my case a V6 ford explorer sport). So with that, here are my thoughts/questions--Most of them I've already searched but since I'm a newbie to hybrids and this forum, I may have missed some things. Rather than posting several different threads, I thought I'd put them all here:

1) Suspension-Is there a suspension kit out there for the 4x4? I'd like to lower it an inch or two.
-- First, for looks-a lowered car just looks sportier to me. Also, if others think "hey, cool car" before "ew, a hybrid", maybe more people will start driving hybrids.
-- Second, to reduce drag and increase handling. For some reason, I think this will positively affect MPG. Do any of the more experienced have a thought here?

2) Wheels-Also a looks thing. I'm thinking 18's since I can still get that size TPMS monitors (I'm thinking Explorer). While larger wheels may take more to get moving, the firmer sidewall of a low profile tire would counterbalance that-correct?

3) Electric Blanket/block heaters - (I'm almost positive this has been discussed) This winter I was thinking about keeping an electric blanket in the cargo area and plugging in before bed. That way batteries will be warm and operating efficiently from the time I turn the key--thoughts here? Same concept for the engine block heater.

4) Engine performance - High flow filters, exhaust kits - is there anything to make the engine more efficient? I know K&N touts that their filters can help increase MPG efficiency, has anyone done this to their car?

Ok, that's my brain dump, I hope it's not to aggressive of an introduction, but I'm excited about this new car and what I can make it do.