ICE tachometer replacement needed, why?

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2006, 11:10 AM
Enthusiast
Default ICE tachometer replacement needed, why?

I brought my FEH'06 4WD for it's routine tuneup and told the service rep that I was having a problem with my ICE where the engine would rev (almost spike) to 4,000 & 6,000 rpms while excellerating to highway speed when entering the highway. I've done this before in other cars and my last SUV, and the ICE would rev up to 2,500 rpms, possibly almost as high as 3,000 rpms, nowhere near 4,000-6,000.

They checked my engine and said I needed a new Tachometer. Since the Tachometer is not a single component, they would have to order a cluster.

Now, I'm not a mechanic, but if my engine is responsing to the rpms listed on the Tachometer. I'm not getting false readings since the engine responds to the rpms indicated.

Why would I need a new Tachometer?

Old 06-02-2006, 11:49 AM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: ICE tachometer replacement needed, why?

The system(s) in the FEH behave much differently from a conventional vehicle, and revving up to high RPMs is normal under certain circumstances. If you request that much torque, the ICE will rev up to its most efficient RPMs to deliver the requested torque. The RPMs don't correspond to speed/gearing... all that goes out the window with the eCVT.

I think you're tach was faulty for other reasons (showing RPMs when the ICE wasn't even running).

Old 06-02-2006, 01:07 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

My 2005 FEH AWD will often rev to 4,000 to 5,000 if I'm heavy with the throttle. I normally take my time and keep the revs about 3,000 when merging on the freeway. The acceleration at 3K is fast enough for normal merging. I find just a minor adjustment to the throttle will have a large impact on engine RPMs when accelerating or climbing a long grade.

Old 06-02-2006, 02:16 PM
Prof. of Hybridology