I dont understand, MPG question

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2007, 12:03 PM
Dan
MPG Centurion
Default Re: I dont understand, MPG question

Total novice here, but I'll throw my Prius hat in (since I'm on the list for a FEH).

Wind... The wind that day was listed at spotty with gusts up to 14 mph originating from East-South-East. So on the way back you had a tail cross-wind helping you out. I've seen a 5 MPG delta in seemingly moderate winds in the Prius and the FEH has a bigger footprint.

I don't get as much of a wind effect in the city because of more ground cover on the smaller roads and the slower speeds.

Old 09-11-2007, 12:38 PM

Originally Posted by Dan
Total novice here, but I'll throw my Prius hat in (since I'm on the list for a FEH).

Wind... The wind that day was listed at spotty with gusts up to 14 miles per hour originating from East-South-East. So on the way back you had a tail cross-wind helping you out. I've seen a 5 MPG delta in seemingly moderate winds in the Prius and the FEH has a bigger footprint.

I don't get as much of a wind effect in the city because of more ground cover on the smaller roads and the slower speeds.

Good to see a Prius hypermiler get his hands on a FEH! The FEH is a different ball game Dan. I use the weight and momentum to pump that battery up with regen. The wind is a big factor, so if I have a headwind, I recommend traveling slower roads. A tailwind really helps the FEH MPG.

Jerry, your right about keeping the FEH moving and avoid stopping. The sweet spot is between 25-35mph where you can control 70% constant EV use. Battery management and control at its lower SoC limits is how I drive my FEH.

GaryG

Old 09-12-2007, 08:24 PM
Hybrid and Ethanol Expert

This is probably the key. In the city, you tend to change your engine RPM a lot, and over the highyway, keep it much more constant.