Buying a Used Ford Escape

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2012, 08:21 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Buying a Used Ford Escape

Originally Posted by stevedebi
I have my SG programmed to watch the 4WD. I've never seen it operate at highway speeds, although I suppose it could. I think the highest I've seen it run is at around 25 MPH.

The most interesting thing to me is that is always operates when pulling out from a stop, even when the weather is good. That is a lot different than other "AWD" systems I've owned, where the rear wheels only operate when the front wheels slip.
I've never seen it operate at highway speeds

It does operate at all speeds as shown in the photo:

Name:  awdengagedus29torque.jpg
Views: 63
Size:  118.1 KB

Old 10-21-2012, 05:51 AM
Imported from Detroit

Originally Posted by GatorJ
Nonsense...you are knowledge base challenged on this issue.
I'm a retired mechanic, so what are you?? The system is the same in a Hybrid or Gas version, maybe you didn't know that?

You may benefit as well from reading my old thread from '09 posted somewhere above.

Last edited by wptski; 10-21-2012 at 11:09 AM.
Old 10-21-2012, 06:07 AM
Imported from Detroit

Originally Posted by Billyk

If the road was dry hard pavement and not going downhill, there's something wrong. Either with the 4WD system or the fact that your using three SG's chained together. I've metioned this in the CleanMPG forum and I'm not the only person that thinks that this could cause a problem.

Back before a few KnowitAlls ran DesertDog/CarlD. from the forum, he had me use some command and out of nowhere came the 4WD response because it was one of the four shown at that time. I had to deselect it to run his command test. This leads me to believe that an SG-II can get confused.