1 Month with my 2008 FEH: My Experience So Far

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2009, 05:37 AM
Enthusiast
Default 1 Month with my 2008 FEH: My Experience So Far

Howdy!

About a month ago I replaced my 10-year-old Trooper with a used 2008 Ford Escape Hybrid with about 26K miles on it. (It was an Enterprise rental car.) I wanted a small SUV and I wanted a hybrid, and the Ford Escape was the only reasonably priced option. So far I'm getting 30-32 mpg in town and a little less on the highway, and I'm still learning all the high mileage driving techniques -- thanks for all the tips here!

I've brought the Escape to the dealer already for some warranty work. The yellow wrench light came on twice and there was a persistent rattle in the back. Both issues were fixed, and here's what they said about the check engine light:

"E29 has come on 2 times
Faulty blend door actuator
Performed EEC test, replaced aux mode door actuator,
reprogram traction control module as per TSB072512"

This was a little confusing, since the owners manual said this light meant there was a problem with the drivetrain. But the blend door actuator is part of the climate control system, right? This seems to be a common problem -- a quick google search found LOTS of remarks about Ford blend door actuators failing. Also, the 2008 FEH does not have traction control, does it?

About the rattle, they said:

"Performed rattle diagnosis, adjusted rear door striker, and insulate"

That seemed to take care of the rattle. Anyway, other than those issues things are great so far. I'm hoping the FEH lasts as long or longer than my Trooper!

Mikael
Austin, TX

Old 02-03-2009, 09:20 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: 1 Month with my 2008 FEH: My Experience So Far

"..Does not have traction control, does it?..."

There is NO modern, late model, FWD or F/awd vehicle in the market today that does not have TC, Traction Control.

To dangerous, 'WAY to dangerous..!!

Old 02-03-2009, 10:21 AM
Enthusiast