HCH II-Specific Discussions Model Years 2006-2011

A/C not working

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2023, 01:20 PM
Active Enthusiast
Angry A/C not working

Hope I'm not missing a prior post on this...the Search function on EVF is not as good as I remember GreenHybrid's.

Our 2008 HCHII has lost air conditioning lately, although fan does work, not good in the heat of summer. I'm not a wonderful mechanic, but I thought I'd check the fuse and then look to see if I could see coolant in the window on the compressor.

Great ideas....but the fuse chart in the owner's manual doesn't list an AC fuse, nor, of course, which box to look in. And I have not been able to locate the AC compressor, unless it's that thing on the passenger side under the hood, and I don't see a coolant window there.

I realize I may have to take the car to my mechanic, but I'd like to at least be able to check the fuse. We had some really hot weather recently, and I could imagine the fuse might have blown during that.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Old 08-24-2023, 08:38 AM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: A/C not working

I think I found a fix!

Old 08-24-2023, 08:30 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast

Nope.

Old 08-24-2023, 08:53 PM
Active Enthusiast

Why the nope? I replaced the clutch relay fuse and that seems to have worked, but i haven’t really had a warm drive yet.

Originally Posted by S Keith
Nope.

Old 08-25-2023, 03:25 PM

Different positions and/or amperages for fuses and relays

Old 06-06-2024, 06:58 PM
Active Enthusiast

Funny thing....one of our first warm days here in Oregon today, A/C didn't seem to be working. I searched for help here and forgot that I'd asked this last year.
Well....when I turn on the A/C I hear the compressor clunk, and the tube the youtube video shows as cold indeed cools off. I think that may be end of story...maybe we just need to not leave the car parked out in the sun.