Introductions Electric Vehicle Forums welcomes you to the community. Please, tell us about yourself!

TDI owner taking the plunge

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2005, 09:16 PM
Enthusiast
Default TDI owner taking the plunge

I've been driving VW TDIs (diesels) for about 5 years now, getting my first one when I was driving 120 miles a day. Last year I traded my Jetta for a Passat TDI which has been a great car, though it was tough going from 50mpg down to the mid 30s. But we've since moved, and my commute is entirely town driving now, so a TDI isn't practical. I'm only getting about 29mpg these days - painful.

My wife and I talked about a hybrid, but she never liked the designs... until the new Civic came out. We test drove an EX a couple weeks ago and she loved it. Our dealer is supposed to get a couple 06 HCHs in this week, and we'll be test driving one of those (assuming they haven't already been spoken for - they hadn't last time I checked). Assuming she's still sold on the idea (and I have no indication that she's won't be), we'll be ordering one for January with navigation.

At this point we're leaning toward keeping the Passat anyway and trading in our Subaru Forester, which gets even worse mileage, but we're still up in the air. All we know for sure is that we're definitely getting a HCH.

-Kris

Old 11-05-2005, 10:25 PM
Super Moderator & Contributor ($)
Default Re: TDI owner taking the plunge

Welcome to the Dark side.....

I hope you like your hybrid. You must post a comparison since you will have owned both a hybrid and a diesel. I'd love to hear the differences from someone with first hand experience.

Old 11-06-2005, 01:44 AM
Diesel Driver

I think that's a good move. Diesels are great bar their current particulate emmissions, better to keep them out of towns/cities, but I don't understand how they can't be practical, is it because of the reduced FE you get around town?

Last edited by stoner; 11-06-2005 at 01:52 AM.
Old 11-06-2005, 08:08 AM