HCH II-Specific Discussions Model Years 2006-2011

Replacement Dunlops Still Not In - What Now?

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2009, 10:27 AM
Enthusiast
Default Replacement Dunlops Still Not In - What Now?

I have a 2006 HCH-II and got my first flat tire. I'm a little past 50,000 km and was told by my Honda Parts & Service Dept to get two replacements. It's been over three weeks now and still my replacement Dunlops (SP 31) are not in. They keep telling me, "One more week..." I was told that if I wanted to switch tire brands I would have to get all four tires replaced. Is this true?! Can't I get, say, two Michelins with the same tire size as the OEM Dunlops as long as all four tires are all-season and have roughly the same traction specs? Sorry if this is a dumb question... I'm no tire expert.

For Canadian HCH-II owners with OEM Dunlops, has anyone else had problems getting replacement Dunlops? Any recommendations for A/S tires that are available in Canada and are fuel efficient / low RR?

Old 10-20-2009, 12:46 PM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Re: Replacement Dunlops Still Not In - What Now?

First off: is it impossible to fix the flat?

If so, with 50,000 km, you've still likely got some mileage in those. What's your current tread depth? You can extrapolate: new they were likely 9/32" The wear bars are at 2/32" I think, but you really don't want to go below 4/32".

We've got Bridgestone Insignia SE200, the other OEM used by Honda. We're at 72,000 km and showing 5~6/32" fwiw.

I gather you're getting your tires through the Part Department. Maybe comparison shop? You might very well be able to get 4 replacement for not that much more, through a tire store.