HCH II-Specific Discussions Model Years 2006-2011

First tank results

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2006, 08:10 PM
Enthusiast
Default First tank results

Have had the car a little more than a week and so far am loving it. My fuel light came on yesterday and as I'm new to the car I wanted to fill up somewhat soon. After the last bar disappeared I was able to put only 10.82 gallons in after 559.4 miles on TripB. The car already had 164 miles on it from the dealer, so I reset the tripB as I left the lot. I was consistently at 49mpg until the last couple of days have been a tad chillier which choked me down to 48.4 at time of fillup on the display. Now, maybe I didn't fill up as much as I could have (went $.50 after the first click) but my calculations were 51.7mpg. And, since reading quite a bit of information on this site I've learned that the computer's numbers vary slightly lower on these cars.

So, 51.7mpg on the very first tank I think is awesome and I can't wait till the ICE really "breaks in" to see what numbers I'll be getting (plus it'll be warm again by then!).

My tips to getting the 51.7mpg were reading Tarabell's article, gliding/coasting whenever possible, not speeding as much as in my other car, and keeping the revs below 2k rpm at normal speed ups (actually found 1500 rpm to not be very slow at all, so tried for that when traffic allowed).

Recomended features for Honda to add to the car :
Illuminated key ring (for finding the ignition)
Sun visor mirror lighting
Larger trunk opening & better design on the lid support arms (they need too much space to lower the lid)

Old 11-19-2006, 08:39 PM
Active Enthusiast
Default Re: First tank results

Adam,

"Thumbs Up" !!!!