HCH II-Specific Discussions Model Years 2006-2011

Anxious New Owner, aspiring hypermiler

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2007, 07:48 PM
Enthusiast
Default Anxious New Owner, aspiring hypermiler

Hi guys, new guy to the forum. I'm a proud new owner of a 2007 Mag Pearl HCH (no navi) for about a month now. I 'm always trying to improve my driving technique. I averaged about 37.5mpg on my first tank and 3-4 tanks later I was able to get 42 mpg. One thing that I am pretty sure that kills my mileage is the final 3 mile, uphill, stretch that goes up a mountain. I read the great HCH faq written by Tarabell but currently not skilled enough to put a lot of it into use. My only triumph so far has been mastering EV-glide at 35-40mph.

I have a few concerns. I'd like to think that I am a conservative driver but it feels difficult to get good mileage in city. Ignoring mountain driving, I only usually get 37 mpg in city and have to take a lot of smooth back roads to improve FE. Highway driving has been even more difficult. I can't seem to get my FE meter above the 30-35 mark. My battery meter gets eaten up, leaving only 4 bars left. I need and do travel around 65 mph to be safe in traffic. So far I have logged about 1000 miles. I would say the split would be 700 in city and 300 high way. Is this behavior normal? Will I only see more improvement at the 5,000 - 10,000 mile magic mark where the HCH becomes a paragon of fuel efficiency?

A little bit more info. I have all my tires set to 32 psi. I use AC sparingly. Sometimes I get a weird squeak (farting) noise when I step on the pedal. I also hit a massive, way too large, poorly placed speed bump at 5mph with a sickening sound. I use about 7-8 gallons before filling up again. Sorry for the lengthy spiel but does anyone have any advice or comments? I'm worried that I damaged something during my driving. Anything will be appreciated.