VW style flip key from Ebay

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2014, 02:16 PM
Enthusiast
Default VW style flip key from Ebay

I just wanted to share my experience since I could not find a decent thread about these types of keys on this site for the FEH. I was a little intimidated by all the different types of keys and programming etc, etc. and I'm an engineer. My hope is that this thread clears some things up for some people.

I am the new owner of a 2008 FEH! This site has been very helpful so far, thought I would do my part and add to it.

The car I bought only came with 1 key. I also own a VW Jetta TDI and I love their keys so I was very happy when I found this key on Ebay. I was tricky finding one that said it worked for this vehicle, but I was able to find one. It only cost $40, shipped from NJ. It is very similar to my VW key. The build quality is excellent and I highly recommend picking one of these up.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/110758111145?item=110758111145&viewitem=&sspagenam e=ADME:L:OC:US:3160&vxp=mtr

This key is a "turn-key" (haha) key. Meaning there is no swapping of parts from your old key. You just cut the blade, program the transponder, and program the remote and you're done!

Now, since I only have 1 key, I needed to take it to a local locksmith to have them program it to the car. It cost me $90 for the cut and program. The process took about 15 minutes and the new key works flawlessly, I couldn't be happier. I might have been able to find a place cheaper, but I was being impatient. Plus, I will never have to pay to program any new keys again since I now have 2 "original" keys (let's hope I don't lose one).

I would say that if you're interested in trying one of these out, DO IT! They work perfectly on the 2008 FEH.

I have heard that there is a method floating around the internet that allows you to program a new key with only 1 original key. I wanted to try it, but I didn't feel it was worth the time and aggravation.