Battery cautions

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-2007, 06:31 AM
Ridiculously Active Enthusiast
Default Battery cautions

This is not really Hybrid related, but it is good info for anyone to know.

I was an auto mechanic for years so I knew this, but a lot of people may not. One of my neighbors was replacing the battery in his car yesterday & accidentally grounded the positive cable with his wrench causing a spark.

The spark caused the vapor emitting from the top of the battery to explode rather violently. The battery literally disintegrated, all that was left was a small corner hanging from the end of the battery cable.

A piece if shrapnel hit him in the forehead & he had 18 stitches to close the wound.............

~John

Old 06-14-2007, 07:39 AM
Default Re: Battery cautions

I am very sorry to read about your neighbor.

This is a good example as to why one ALWAYS connects the positive terminal first when installing a battery, and disconnects the negative terminal first when removing a battery.

By doing this, the chassis and body of the vehicle is never, ever, connected to the negative terminal of the battery, while one is using a wrench on the positive terminal.

Old 06-14-2007, 09:56 AM
Feral Engineer
Exclamation Re: Battery cautions

And as a further caution note that the battery is filled with acid, which sprays everywhere when the battery explodes. Particularly nasty if it gets in your eyes.

Jump starting a vehicle can trigger this explosion if the last connection is made to the battery post instead of a part of the chassis away from the hydrogen fumes that surround the battery.

Old 06-14-2007, 11:23 AM

Originally Posted by travelover
And as a further caution note that the battery is filled with acid, which sprays everywhere when the battery explodes. .
Yea, I forgot to mention that part. He got acid all over his chest & a few drops on his face but it wasn't real severe. He was pretty lucky really, he could have lost an eye (or worse)

~John