Electric Vehicle Forums

Electric Vehicle Forums (/forums/)
-   Ford Escape Hybrid (https://electricvehicleforums.com/forums/ford-escape-hybrid-26/)
-   -   TC and F/awd vehicles. (https://electricvehicleforums.com/forums/ford-escape-hybrid-26/tc-f-awd-vehicles-21838/)

gpsman1 06-03-2009 06:21 PM

Re: TC and F/awd vehicles.

All the data in all the books and on all the web sites state that FWD is more safe and more desireable than RWD.

For the record, I've been keeping track for the past 12 months, and W.W. has been incorrect in FEH area 86.2% of the time. I don't keep track of other areas. I don't have the time.

wptski 06-03-2009 09:05 PM

Originally Posted by stevedebi (Post 204195)
It took more quotes for me, but wwest has been on my ignore list for several months...

I see now that he started this thread, what a waste.

My owners manual has an interesting comment on the instrument cluster; the "slipping car" icon is listed as ABS active / Traction Control (If equipped). I am wondering if the AWD versions even implement TC.

Sure it does. TC uses the ABS system. Look at my link in Post #7. That's how torque is applied to three wheels.

Bill Winney 06-04-2009 05:16 AM

RE: TC & ABS

If you think about it TC is just a slight software modification of the ABS System. In ABS the computer monitors the wheels for lockup and modulates the brake at that wheel to prevent it. (For the record the info I have seen on ABS indicates that 85% wheel rotation versus actual speed is defined as maximum braking effect.)

In TC the same system monitors each wheel with power for wheel spin above road speed and modulates the brake for that wheel (& Engine power if needed) to prevent spin. In essence the engineers realized they could do both with the same system and sell them as two safety items. The implementation is really easy once you have wheel sensors in place.

I have noted two things over the years.